Winners Announced for 40th Annual International Lighting Design Awards

14th September 2023

(Worldwide) – The finest examples of lighting design in the world have been celebrated and awarded through the presentation of the 40th annual IALD International Lighting Design Awards.

This year’s awards were presented by Acuity Brands and showcased a total of 27 projects from 15 countries. Each nomination was recognised for their demonstration of exceptional lighting design and contribution to the professional design community.

The project with the highest score received an Award of Excellence as well as the highest honour of the ceremony, the IALD Radiance Award for Excellence in Lighting Design. This accolade was given to The Church of Our Lady of Laeken in Brussels, Belgium with lighting design by LIGHT-TO-LIGHT.

The following projects received an IALD Award of Excellence:

  • 550 Madison Avenue Lobby | New York, NY USA | KGM Architectural Lighting
  • Central Library of Estefan Municipality | Esfahan, Iran | Behin Lighting Company
  • The Church of Our Lady of Laeken | Brussels, Belgium | LIGHT-TO-LIGHT
  • Espenes Rest Stop | Sørfjorden, Hardanger, Norway | Light Bureau
  • IINC Boutique | Hangzhou, China | YAANK Lighting Design
  • Indoor Lighting for the Mausoleum of Theodoric | Ravenna, Italy | I-DEA
  • New Perelada Winery | Girona, Spain | Artec Studio
  • Polish Army Soldiers’ Cemetery at Westerplatte | Gdańsk, Poland | QLAB Laboratory of Light
  • Rochester Cathedral | Kent, United Kingdom | CES Lighting & Electrical Specialists
  • Suzanne and Walter Scott Aquarium | Omaha, Nebraska, USA | Morrissey Engineering
  • Zero-Energy Media Façade | Basel, Switzerland | iart

The following projects earned an IALD Award of Merit:

  • American Museum of Natural History: Allison and Roberto Mignone Halls of Gems and Minerals | New York, New York, USA | Renfro Design Group
  • Athens Olympic Museum | Marousi, Athens, Greece | Loisos + Ubbelohde in collaboration with KLAB Architecture
  • Biograph Pilot Clinic | San Mateo, California, USA | PritchardPeck Lighting
  • The Elizabeth Line: Line-Wide Design | London, United Kingdom | Equation Lighting Design
  • Greenhills Beach Residence | Sydney, New South Wales, Australia | Electrolight
  • GRNDCNTRL Night Club | Shanghai, China | YAANK Lighting Design
  • Hallgrímskirkja | Reykjavík, Iceland | LISKA
  • Ishikawa Prefectural Library | Ishikawa, Japan | Lighting Planners Associates
  • The Schwarzman Center Renovation at Yale University | New Haven, Connecticut, USA | L’Observatoire International
  • Senate House Steps, University of London | London, United Kingdom | BDP Lighting
  • SETSU Niseko – a Seven Palms Resort (Reception, Lobby Lounge & Wine Bar) | Hokkaido, Japan | Nipek
  • Steinmetz Hall – Dr. Phillips Center for the Performing Arts | Orlando, Florida, USA | Ann Kale Associates
  • Queen Miami Beach (Theatre Restaurant Night Club) | Miami, Florida, USA | Lux Populi
  • Verizon at the Hub on Causeway | Boston, Massachusetts, USA | HLB Lighting Design + Michael Stiller Design

Chair Yah Li Toh hosted the online broadcast. Yah Li Toh commented: “These exceptional projects are diverse in application and scale, but each one elevates and inspires our professional community.”

She continued: “The large number of entries submitted for this year was a clear indication of the vitality of professional lighting design. Our judges worked tirelessly to evaluate them all thoroughly and with strict adherence to our blind scoring criteria, and these 27 winners are the absolute best of an already incredible array of talented work.”

This year’s esteemed judges included Ee Mun Chan, Roberto Corradini, Kim Daley, Julia Hartmann, Fang Hu, Andrew McCormack, and Jackson Stigwood.